Monday, March 23, 2009


Put A Record On: Röyksopp Unites Scandinavia
March 23rd, 2009 | Bergen

Norway and Sweden have always had a love/hate relationship, but electro-poppers Röyksopp have bucked the trend by inviting the crème de la crème of Sweden's pop queens to collaborate on their latest release. Junior features Robyn, Lykke Li and The Knife's Karin Dreijer Andersson as guest vocalists, resulting in a sound that's harder than debut album Melody AM and chart-friendlier than 2005's follow-up The Understanding.

Robyn's work on "The Girl And The Robot" lifts a basic electro beat from mediocrity to hit status, while Dreijer Andersson's two songs, "This Must Be It" and "Tricky Tricky," benefit from mysterious, yet witty lyrics. First single "Happy Up Here" has a distinctive disco groove, probably due to a sample from Parliament's 1976 hit "Do That Stuff," and Lykke Li's work on "Miss It So Much" is a match made in electro heaven.

Röyksopp's countrywoman Anneli Drecker—who normally plays with Norwegian dream pop band Bel Canto—sings on the majority of the album's songs, but she's overshadowed by the all the stardust from her neighbouring Scandinavians.

For more information, see

—David Hellqvist

No comments: